Recognition requirements for Natural Therapy providers

Important: The Australian Government has announced that health funds must remove 16 natural therapies from their complying covers by 1 April 2019. Click here for more details.

Australian Unity will recognise eligible Natural Therapy providers, after the following requirements are met:

1. Recognised association membership and other requirements 

All providers must have a current non-associate membership with an Australian Unity recognised provider association. Australian Unity also requires:

i. Senior First Aid Certificate

ii. Current and adequate certificate of Insurance

iii. Up-to-date Continuing Professional Education hours to a minimum of 20 hours per year.

Please note: The registration criteria of each association may differ. Please check with your relevant association for a list of any additional registration criteria.

2. Recognised qualifications 

All providers must have completed a minimum of a Diploma in their field of practice. This qualification must be listed on one of the following National Registers:  

i. The register for the Vocational Education Sector is managed by (T.G.A)

ii. The register for the Tertiary Education Sector is managed by the Tertiary Education Quality & Standards Agency (TESQA)

3. Approved course facilitators

Accepted qualifications must have been facilitated through a Registered Training Organisation (RTO) - as registered with the appropriate National Register (T.G.A or TESQA).

4. International qualifications

Accepted qualifications are those registered on the appropriate National Register. Therefore if you have an international qualification you will need to approach a Registered Training Organisation to complete an equivalent nationally recognised qualification.

Please contact your association or the Federal Department of Education and Training on 1300 566 046 for advice on the comparability of your international qualification with the AQF. You can then contact your Registered Training Organisation for assessment for any recognition of prior learning that may be applicable to you.

5. In Private Practice

Eligibility for health fund benefits is on the basis that health provider services are provided in private practice 

Under Australian Unity’s Fund Rules, Private Practice is classified as “a professional practice (whether sole, partnership or group) that operates on an independent and self-supporting basis. This means its accommodation, facilities and/or services are not provided or subsidised by another party, such as a Public Hospital or publicly funded facility”.

Australian Unity may from time to time at its discretion, require an Ancillary provider to complete a declaration concerning their private practice status, prior to payment of benefits.

6. Appropriate AHPRA Registrations

All Chinese Medicine Practitioners, which includes providers of Acupuncture and Chinese Herbal Medicine, must be registered under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme with the Chinese Medicine Board of Australia.

7. Australian Unity Policies and Procedures

All Allied Health providers seeking recognition by Australian Unity must comply with Australian Unity’s applicable policies and procedures, including, but not limited to, the Australian Unity Health Deregistration Policy (2014), Australian Unity Health Recognised Ancillary Provider Terms and Conditions (2014) and Australian Unity Recognition Requirements for Natural Therapy Associations (2014).

Australian Unity may amend its policies and procedures from time to time. 

Contact us

For more information or to update your details such as your practice location call us on 1800 035 360