Recognition requirements for Allied Health providers

Australian Unity will recognise selected Allied Health providers, after the following requirements are met:

1. Appropriate Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Authority (AHPRA) Registration

All Allied Health providers must be registered with their appropriate AHPRA National Board.

Where an Allied Health service is not governed by AHPRA, membership with the appropriate Allied Health Professions Australia (AHPA) association must be held.

AHPA member associations can be viewed here.

2. Medicare Registration

All providers, where Medicare accepts that service, must have a valid Medicare Number.

For Medicare registration visit here or call 132 150

3. In Private Practice

Eligibility for health fund benefits is on the basis that health provider services are provided in private practice

Under Australian Unity’s Fund Rules, Private Practice is classified as “a professional practice (whether sole, partnership or group) that operates on an independent and self-supporting basis. This means its accommodation, facilities and/or services are not provided or subsidised by another party, such as a Public Hospital or publicly funded facility”.

Australian Unity may from time to time at its discretion, require an Ancillary provider to complete a declaration concerning their private practice status, prior to payment of benefits.

4. Australian Unity Policies and Procedures

All Allied Health providers seeking recognition by Australian Unity must comply with Australian Unity’s applicable policies and procedures, including, but not limited to, the Australian Unity Health Deregistration Policy (2014), Australian Unity Health Recognised Ancillary Provider Terms and Conditions (2014) and Australian Unity Recognition Requirements for Natural Therapy Associations (2014)

Australian Unity may amend its policies and procedures from time to time.