Award Winners 2010

Thank you to everyone who entered the 2010 Australian Unity Bryan Kelleher Literary Award.

The response to our competition was outstanding with 445 entries received. The judges have read all the submissions and were very impressed by the standard of poems.

Click on the poem names to view each entry.

2012 Winners Winner's name Poem Names
First prize  Gary Harding The Bush Piano 
Second prize Ellis Campbell Another Differ Passed Away
Third prize Brenda-Joy Pritchard Piner of the Past
Highly Commended David Campbell A Love Story
Highly Commended Gary Harding With the Brumbies
Highly Commended Catherine Clarke The Hunt

In addition to these prizes, we have also awarded three Young Achiever awards.

The judges were particularly impressed by the poems entered by our young poets and these prizes are designed to encourage our young writers to continue to grow as bush poets.

Winner's name Poem Names
Young Achiever Award Hannah Nugent  The Fallen ANZAC
Young Achiever Award Isabella Cimo Through an Old Bloke's Eyes
Young Achiever Award  Sarah Collins Australian Free

The judges were so impressed with the calibre of entries in the Young Achiever section, they awarded five Encouragement awards. 

Winner's name Poem Names
Encouragement Award Laura Wilcox The Bush Fairy
Encouragement Award Elliot Perez There's an Outback Out There

Click here to read the 2010 judges report from Noel Stallard and Kym Eitel.