Award Winners 2009

Thank you to everyone who entered the Australian Unity Bryan Kelleher Literary Award.

The response to our competition was outstanding with 546 entries received. The judges have read all the submissions and were very impressed by the standard of poems.

Click on the poem names to view each entry.

2012 Winners Winner's name Poem Names
First prize  David Campbell The White Ribbon
Second prize Dean Travaskis The Battle Worn Campaigner
Third prize Keith Gardner
Highly Commended Catherine Clarke A Bushman's Last Farewell
Highly Commended Ed Walker Unsung and Silent
Highly Commended Marty Langenberg Life's Extreme

In addition to these prizes, we have also awarded three Young Achiever awards.

The judges were particularly impressed by the poems entered by our young poets and these prizes are designed to encourage our young writers to continue to grow as bush poets.

Winner's name Poem Names
Young Achiever Award   Isabelle Urbano Australian Identity on the Goldfields
Young Achiever Award Laura Johnston City Dwelling Lot
Young Achiever Award  Georgia Ryan The Woes of a Farmer

Click here to read the 2009 judges report from Noel Stallard and Kym Eitel.