Award Winners 2008


Thank you to everyone who entered the 2012 Australian Unity Bryan Kelleher Literary Award.

The response to our competition was again outstanding with 455 entries received. The judges have read all the submissions and were very impressed by the standard of poems.

Click on the poem names to view each entry.

2012 Winners Winner's name Poem Names
First prize  Ed Walker Birth of Our Spirit
Second prize David Campbell The Ballad of Mulligan’s Pub
Third prize David Campbell The End of Midnight
Highly Commended George Fordham Waltzing Matilda (my view of things)

In addition to these prizes, we have also awarded three Young Achiever awards.

The judges were particularly impressed by the poems entered by our young poets and these prizes are designed to encourage our young writers to continue to grow as bush poets.

Winner's name Poem Names
Young Achiever Award  Daniel Terrington  Gurragivs & the Greedy Croc of the Darling
Young Achiever Award Grace Lund A Heart of Gold
Young Achiever Award  Rupert Christie Tom and the Mob

Click here to read the 2008 judges report.